MyBB Internal: One or more warnings occurred. Please contact your administrator for assistance.
MyBB Internal: One or more warnings occurred. Please contact your administrator for assistance.
Improvement over 1 year timespan

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Improvement over 1 year timespan
While I haven't yet reached perfect vision, I consider my improvement over the last year a definite "success story" and wanted to share the progress I've achieved so-far, along with my thoughts about the Bates method and other things I've read & heard.

This all started in September 2008, when I had decided to go for laser vision correction. I had been wearing contacts for 20 years, and glasses several years before that. My refractive measurements before deciding on laser correction were 5.50 diopters (contacts) in each eye, spherical. For glasses, they would have added correction for astigmatism, but for contacts this was not necessary. So I assume my astigmatism wasn't too much. The optometrist was about to increase my prescription to 5.75 after I ran out of contacts, so clearly I was not showing signs of improvement.

I went to the first laser center to hear I couldn't do lasik, only PRK. I was told 20/20 correction was a realistic expectation if they performed the surgery. I wasn't totally impressed with the whole experience, as they did not dilate me. They put the drops in, but I know what dilation is like (things very bright and cant read good) and I clearly was NOT dilated. I read that dilation is a necessary step in the examination for laser correcton, so I knew their exam was not thorough since I wasn't dilated.

So I went for a 2nd opinion. The 2nd place said I was 20/200 at best, and could do either PRK or Lasik. I was told I could expect 20/30. However there was only 1 shot -- I could not have "adjustments" made later because there wasn't enough cornea. Since I got conflicting info, I decide on a 3rd opinion.