MyBB Internal: One or more warnings occurred. Please contact your administrator for assistance.
MyBB Internal: One or more warnings occurred. Please contact your administrator for assistance.
First Prescription reduction for highly astigmatic eyes

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
First Prescription reduction for highly astigmatic eyes
    I am new to the Vision Improvement game. I have been reading extensively and have an overall basic understanding. Only this morning I was reading someone's article on this site (I thought) about his formula for reducing his prescription for astigmatism. I have lost track of the article, but if I remember it correctly it goes something like this: Reduce the cylinder by XX% and no bifocal correction. Can anyone out there point out a formula like this in the literature or does anyone have a personal experience they care to share.
      Since this will be my first reduction, and since I'm a bit apprehensive I would appreciate any support I can get. I'm in my sixties and my current prescription is: 0D -050  -425  x026,  OS -025  -475  x003. Both lines ar followed by a single +225 PAC (I think the latter is the correction for the over 40 crowd).
      Overall my corrected vision is excellent. I can see both near and far well beyond what many people who have 20/20 vision can. However, I'm at the crossroads, I am either going to have my very well worn prescription specs replaced or work to get rid of them. I choose the latter and any encouragment will be appreciated.

Thanks in advance
Ron
Dear Ron,

Some additional questions and clarifications:

Ron>      Since this will be my first reduction, and since I'm a bit apprehensive I would appreciate any support I can get. I'm in my sixties and my current prescription is: 0D -050  -425  x026,  OS -025  -475  x003.

Otis> The OD is "right eye", and OS is left eye.

You seem to have a huge amount of astigmatism, of 4.25

Typical would be up to 1 to 1.5 diopters.