MyBB Internal: One or more warnings occurred. Please contact your administrator for assistance.
MyBB Internal: One or more warnings occurred. Please contact your administrator for assistance.
The use of drugs for treating myopia. - Printable Version
Eyesight Improvement Forum
The use of drugs for treating myopia. - Printable Version

+- Eyesight Improvement Forum (https://www.iblindness.org/forum)
+-- Forum: General Discussion (https://www.iblindness.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Forum: Complementary Methods (https://www.iblindness.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=7)
+--- Thread: The use of drugs for treating myopia. (/showthread.php?tid=1047)

The use of drugs for treating myopia. - carbuncle - 12-27-2008

Hello, I'm new here. I am in my first year of pharmacy college and I have learned a few drugs that act on the eyes and I have been studying the eyes and myopia. I am here to start a topic to see if drugs can be used to treat it. I am just going to talk about what I learned from my research so far, I am still a student and I would be happy if someone corrected me.

I think I have acquired myopia or self induced myopia from being too close to a computer screen and bad eye habits for so many years. I think what happens is the ciliary muscle in the eye that controls focusing becomes over works and spasms. Just like any other muscle would from over use, the ciliary muscle contracts for near vision and prolong contraction causes this spasm. The muscle then does not want to relax for far vision, I believe because trigger points form in it. Trigger points are sore spots you can feel in your skeletal muscles like on your back, a spot that feels really tender and releases when massaged. Trigger points in the cililary muscle are not as easly treated though because they are inside your eye.