MyBB Internal: One or more warnings occurred. Please contact your administrator for assistance.
MyBB Internal: One or more warnings occurred. Please contact your administrator for assistance.
PLEASE HELP

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
PLEASE HELP
I am new to the Bates Method. Thankfully, I am still young (15yrs) and I have low myopia (-2.25 both eyes). I wish to get rid of my contacts and I have some questions about the bates method. Can someone please tell me about the basis of the method?

1. When I try to "swing", I just kind of move my head back and forth....nothing happens, my eyes still feel strained...

2. When Bates says shifting, does he mean constant movement every second of your life?

3. I always try to outline the shapes of objects....

4. By central fixation, isn't that staring at one point...?

5. How long might it take to get to 20/20 vision if I do bates everyday?

Please answer the above 5 queries....THANKS!
Bound4Harvard Wrote:1. When I try to "swing", I just kind of move my head back and forth....nothing happens, my eyes still feel strained...

Moving your head isn't what you need to do - its the eyes that need to swing to prevent staring.

Quote:2. When Bates says shifting, does he mean constant movement every second of your life?

Nope. Its to be done if you have a tendency to stare which you obviously do. Soon enough, it becomes natural to change focus quickly.

Quote:3. I always try to outline the shapes of objects....

I didn't see noticeable success so I don't recommend it for you but trial & error is best here.

Quote:4. By central fixation, isn't that staring at one point...?

Again, looking at one point & shifting to another point soon enough to avoid strain.

Quote:5. How long might it take to get to 20/20 vision if I do bates everyday?

You can't put a specified time duration because how is your vision now depends on your mood, thoughts, emotions, even the weather at the particular moment.