MyBB Internal: One or more warnings occurred. Please contact your administrator for assistance.
MyBB Internal: One or more warnings occurred. Please contact your administrator for assistance.
Reduced prescription

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Reduced prescription
I have astigmatism in both eyes and I want to buy a cheap pair of glasses to help with my vision improvement. I was thinking about getting a pair with little or no reduction in sphere and a significant reduction in cylinder, just to focus on correcting the astigmatism for now. Is this a good idea or not so much?

Here's my current prescription:
Code:
Sphere  Cylinder
R: -5.50   +3.00
L: -5.50   +2.25
What would you recommend? What should my reduced prescription be?
I am not an eye doctor and your astigmatism correction is pretty high so you probably want to make gradual changes so you don't disoriented yourself. Work with a behavioral optometrist or use an old weaker pair of glasses or just reduce it a little if you're on your own.
Any idea about what I should reduce it to? I am on my own and I'm totally willing to make gradual changes.

I'm just not sure what would be good numbers.
I am hesitant to recommend numbers as people react so differently. Someone very nervous might think going from -5.50 to -5.25 was a big disruption! Go with gradual changes if you can't find an older weaker pair to use, and take them off when you can do so safely. This is not a race.
I see. Thanks. I've got a pair ordered.
Great! Let us know how they feel when they arrive.
So I ended up dropping by .25 sphere, and by .75/.50 cylinder. The change seems awkward and I get the impression that the two numbers are sort of interdependent, as far as muscle compensation, and I should have gone for a better balance or something. This pair seems not good.

Is there anyone who could give me a rough idea of what might be good? I'm not gonna hold you accountable and say "You made me buy the wrong glasses!" I promise.