MyBB Internal: One or more warnings occurred. Please contact your administrator for assistance.
MyBB Internal: One or more warnings occurred. Please contact your administrator for assistance.
New here! Considering the bates method...?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New here! Considering the bates method...?
I'm 18 years old and i'm new here. i suffer from Myopia at -6.00 in both eyes and a bit of astigmatism (spelling?) in my left eye.

However, i've been interested in this area when i found bates' book in my local bookshop when i was 15. I have always hoped to take that step to improving my eyesight, but i can't do it. As a student, i really do *NEED* my glasses. And i'm going to continue to need them until i'm in my mid-20's at the very least. For both short-distance and long-distance use.

Although i'll be going university this year and will still need them no doubt, i have been thinking recently that it's now or never. By the time i have proper time to devote to the bates method, i'll already be an old man. Which is why today i am posting here.

So, to restore 20/20 vision to my eyes (or close enough):

1. What is the maximum time per day i can wear my prescription glasses? (1 hour? 30 minutes? Or just throw them away?)

2. Is there anything that will help me function healthily in society, since throwing away my glasses will basically make me blind? Which won't be helpful when i'll be studying a lot.

3. Is 1-2 years a realistic time to expect my vision to be restored? If it takes any longer than that, i may as well just go for laser eye surgery than live 2+ years in blindness.

4. Roughly, how long do i have to do the bates' exercises per day? (don't give me a wishy-washy answer like 'whatever is best for you'. Because no time is best for me. I'm a busy man).