MyBB Internal: One or more warnings occurred. Please contact your administrator for assistance.
MyBB Internal: One or more warnings occurred. Please contact your administrator for assistance.
Reduced strength glasses and underlying heath conditions

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 1 Average
Reduced strength glasses and underlying heath conditions
I've been wearing glasses and contacts for the past 10 years. I have lyme disease and wonder if that might get in the way of vision improvement. I have astigmatism in my right eye and my contact lens prescription is -2.5 right eye and -1.5 in the left eye although this recently fluctuated to -1.25, another optician thought -1.75...

I can't see without my glasses on so would like to start by wearing a reduced prescription. Can any one recommend what might be a suitable prescription for me? I found some old glasses and tried wearing them and I got serious eye strain I guess I need to limit my use throughout the day.

I have recently become intolerant to wearing contacts - I think this is from the lyme disease so I will be stopping wearing these any way. I have faith in the method and really hope this can help me but I am concerned having an underlying health condition could make things difficult.

Any input greatly appreciated thanks Smile
can any body help? Confused
(03-03-2014, 09:14 AM)miffy Wrote: can any body help? Confused

Someone recommended in my thread 2ish diopters, but since you're less than that maybe just try the least prescription you can get by with for what you're doing.

For example I can use almost +2 from my current prescription and still read at twelve-eighteen inches, so that's what I wear for close work.

Than being said I have no clue what I'm talking about, so don't take my word for anything. But this forum isn't super active so I thought I'd throw in my two cents.
thanks Smile
(03-03-2014, 12:59 PM)miffy Wrote: thanks Smile

Go to my website. All is free. See my signature below for the link.