MyBB Internal: One or more warnings occurred. Please contact your administrator for assistance.
MyBB Internal: One or more warnings occurred. Please contact your administrator for assistance.
Practice using digital clock

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Practice using digital clock
I have been practising Bates since Nov 2006.  I started with uncorrected vision about 20/400, and I believe that I am now 20/200 or a little better.  I have been experimenting with central fixation and swinging/shifting, and can now produce clear flashes of varying quality almost at will.  I find certain text and background colours most stimulating.  Here is something that I practice at home, but I wonder if it is good as an exercise to stimulate correct vision habits (even psychologically), or if it is too much like a test. 

I stand about 3 feet away from a digital clock with blue/green digits in a darkened room - some light but not fully illuminated.  I relax myself with about a minute of deep breathing, then I massage my eyes according to some Chinese eye exercises based on acupressure.  Then I do about a minute of palming.  When I open my eyes, I look at the sea of blue/green light blur where the clock digits should be.  I practice the central fixation technique that really clicked for me when I read a certain passage of Meir Schneider's book.  I combine that central fixation technique with short swinging and/or shifting. 

Most of the time within a few minutes I can get a clear image of the digits to pop out of the sea of blurred light.  I cannot tell you what a cool feeling this is for me, after 35+ years of dependence on glasses... to know that my natural vision is still there inside of me.