MyBB Internal: One or more warnings occurred. Please contact your administrator for assistance.
MyBB Internal: One or more warnings occurred. Please contact your administrator for assistance.
Quackwatch

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 1 Average
Quackwatch
http://www.quackwatch.com/11Ind/bates.html
this bates stuff is quackery. When i first noticed my vision going down, the first solutions i found were online "bates", "eye yoga", "eye habits", "emotional-metaphysical nonsense (like i don't want to see)".

Obviously the stuff above does not address the REAL reason my vision is going down (because i'm a student who needs to do near work at 30-50cm for 12hours+ a day). This Plus gets rid of the near.

I wasted 6 months "trying bates" (which does nothing since i can't stop doing near work). Finally i stumbled upon the REAL solution using the PLUS lens on a website somewhere. The bates stuff was all clutter that hides the REAL solution.
Agreed. Bates method yielded no results for me except for some clear flashes. It's really sad to see that people who are interested in vision improvement have to get through all the Bates stuff first before usually finding the right answer which is active focusing with or without a plus lens. I practicesed Bates and other methods like muscle exercises for about a year and had no results except for a fast improvement in the first 3 weeks. But since I started using the plus and practising print pushing I could improve my edge of blur by several cms.
Well i would have to change what i said. Bates method isn't "completely" quackery. some of his ideas like shifting, relaxation, long swings, central fixation promote active focus. Bates got the wrong idea close work does no harm and didn't connect all his ideas together.
I especially liked the information about Bates deceptive use of the retina-scope
There is a poster here that praises his use of it.
I wrote a response to that article years ago.