MyBB Internal: One or more warnings occurred. Please contact your administrator for assistance.
MyBB Internal: One or more warnings occurred. Please contact your administrator for assistance.
Lots of muscle tension in the eye and neck

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Lots of muscle tension in the eye and neck
Hi all,

I've been wearing glasses for 25+ years ever since I was a little child and now have pretty bad myopia and astigmatism. My right eye's prescription is -10.5 and my left eye is -7.5 with astigmatism thrown in. I've been reading about Bates ever since I read in an NLP book about how to use hypnosis to cure eyesight. At first I didn't understand Bates but now I think I get it. I also went to a local hypnotist who tried to help me but was unsuccessful mainly due to my expectations.

What I've noticed is that I have a lot of muscle tension when I take off my glasses and do any sort of eye exercise. My eyes feel really tense (like they're being compressed or squeezed and the tension extends down to my neck. Like I said I haven't practiced much in terms of the Bates method as I have to wear my glasses constantly in order to work and any improvement would be wiped out if I wore my glasses back.

Has any of you experienced similar thing and gotten god results with Bates? In a way I would want a quick enough result so that any work I do is not wiped out by my wearing the glasses back.

Thanks,
JB
I suggest to you to get some reduced prescription glasses. The point is to practice proper eye habits, and if you can do at least some of them while wearing glasses, your work will not be wiped out. Any relaxation, any improvement, will never be wiped out completely, because it will be easier to recall it and bring it back the more often you do it.
Palming will help with releasing tension in the eyes.