MyBB Internal: One or more warnings occurred. Please contact your administrator for assistance.
MyBB Internal: One or more warnings occurred. Please contact your administrator for assistance.
RyanInSeattle's Vision Improvement Journal

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
RyanInSeattle's Vision Improvement Journal
Hello Everyone,

I'm relatively new to the Bates method and brand new to this forum. I intend to use this thread to track my progress, and welcome any advice or input. Here's my story up to this point.

On a recent vacation in Hawaii, I found myself wishing I didn't have to deal with the glasses I've had since 7th grade. LASIK crossed my mind, but I knew it would have to wait because my wife and I are on a tight budget trying to pay off our massive student loans within a year. I recalled hearing about a book on natural vision improvement - "Take off your Glasses and See" by Jacob Liberman - while reading a blog years ago. Since LASIK would have to wait at least a year, I thought I'd check out the book and decide whether natural vision improvement was worth a shot.

Liberman's book blew my mind and introduced me to the Bates method. I became convinced that natural vision improvement is possible and resolved to give it a serious try. I printed a Snellen chart to track my progress. My vision started at 10/200, with my prescription being -2.25 with a slight correction for astigmatism.

After about a month of fairly obsessive practice (averaging about 1.5 hours a day - I'm a fairly obsessive person), my vision is pretty consistently 20/200, with brief flashes of 20/40 and 20/30. My -2.25 prescription felt overly strong, so I searched for the most progressive optometrist I could find and asked for a reduced prescription.