MyBB Internal: One or more warnings occurred. Please contact your administrator for assistance.
MyBB Internal: One or more warnings occurred. Please contact your administrator for assistance.
Spacing out or Central Fixation

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Spacing out or Central Fixation
Okay, since it is a well know habit of people with eyesight problems to stare or space out I have stopped doing it myself as it causes strain, one thing I just noticed (while wearing contacts) is that as I began to space out and it became apparent I noticed my peripheral vision go blurry, I assume my eyes weren't shifting because it all seemed blurry but it then made me ask myself if that was central fixation or just the by product of strain.

Any help will be appreciated
I could be off on this, as I am still learning too, but my understanding is that central fixation has nothing to do with the peripheral vision. I don't think the presence of it can affect the peripheral vision in a negative manner. If the peripheral suddenly gets blurry, there is probably some strain involved. I think I know what you're talking about, since I've been down that road before. For me, I get that strain when I try to "grab" at too large an area (sometimes my entire field of vision!). This can happen if you try to hold everything in your visual field at the same time. It's hard to explain, but for me, it feels like my eyes are trying to fence off my visual field. If any of that sounds familiar to you, then it's worth a look.
Hopefully David will step in on this he after all seems to have best idea of central fixation Smile
Dr. Bates taught Two Ways to learn Central Fixation;