MyBB Internal: One or more warnings occurred. Please contact your administrator for assistance.
MyBB Internal: One or more warnings occurred. Please contact your administrator for assistance.
double vision: serious, or eye strain?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
double vision: serious, or eye strain?
Greetings,

I am 57 years old, had what I now realize was the great blessing of excellent eyesight most of my life, up until the last 5 years or so, when the usual age-related changes began.  I didn't believe it would happen to me, but now I am wearing prescription progressive lenses!  I am a photographer, and do a lot of intensive visual work, not only with the camera, but in the "digital darkroom" -- at the computer.  I've been having increasing difficulty with frequent periods of double vision, which takes quite a while to resolve.  Is this something that might respond to excercises, or is it possibly a more serious red flag that merits closer medical attension (which some sites suggest)?
I'm no doctor(I'm refusing to say OD because I dislike any trad. OD that treat trad. eye care as eye care) but it sounds like you may expirence eye strain...I used VFL a little bit and I saw a small improvement in my eye sight in a day...Sounds like you haven't been wearing glasses that long so you'll see 20/20 quicker than I would..

Some tips, go outside and take a break and allow your eyes to focus on different things in natural sunlight...

Also, trying something like a hot bag of rice warmed in the microwave or a warm towel to relieve stress...
Hi luv2c,

Welcome to the forum!

It could be either. There are things that can happen to make you see double besides eyestrain, but it's more the exception than the rule. Legally I can't advise against seeing a doctor, but if it were me and the doctor found anything less than a brain tumor, I would chalk it up to strain.