MyBB Internal: One or more warnings occurred. Please contact your administrator for assistance.
MyBB Internal: One or more warnings occurred. Please contact your administrator for assistance.
progress so far

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
progress so far
Hi, everyone. I just wanted to give an update. I learned about the Bate's method last spring and really started practicing it last June. My prescription was -5D in both eyes, and standing about 15 feet away from the Snellen chart, I couldn't even see the big E.

I haven't been really doing exercises at all actually. I have a one-year-old and don't have too many opportunities to devote to exercises. I find palming helpful but get bored after a few minutes so I do very short, mini-palming throughout the day when I notice straining. I have been spending a LOT of time without my glasses on because I had the summer off (I'm a teacher), and I think I've learned to really stop diffusing and practice centralizing all day long.

I started having clear flashes after about a week, and honestly, they were excrutiatingly painful at first. Actually, I think I had the best clear flashes during the first few days I had them because I was so fascinated by this astonishing improvement in sight that I endured much more pain than I probably should have. Now, my eyes sting a little and water when I have a clear flash, but I allow my eyes to tense up enough to make it go away before it gets too painful.

If I stand in front of a Snellen chart without a clear flash, I can now tell there's an E at the top, but it's not very clear. Still, that's better than not seeing an E at all. If I have a clear flash, I can read the fourth line.